30 Day Knitting Challenge: Day 11

Day 11: Do you have a “Knitter Hero” or someone that is just way too awesome for their own good? Do share!

Yes. My friend Raine! She is awesome and super talented. I watch her knit/crochet and am just like ‘How does she do that? And so quickly?!” Then I remember what an amateur I am really, I’ve only been knitting for a year. Raine has been knitting for a long time, her Grandmothers both taught her how to knit, and her experience really shows. So here are some of my favourite Raine creations…

Bob-Bomb Tea Cosy

Bob-Bomb Tea Cosy: This is from a competition we entered at Yarndale. Raine designed and made this all by herself, although the idea came from her equally clever husband. It was no surprise at all when this had sold before we even got to the venue!

 

Cthulhu Hat

Cthulhu Hat: Aforementioned husband can be seen modelling here! I have no idea what a Cthulhu is, but this is still pretty cool.

 

Crochet Giraffe_ I adore this giraffe, it's so sweet!

Crochet Giraffe: I adore this giraffe, it’s so sweet!

 

Green and Black Wonder Scarf

Green and Black Wonder Scarf: Raine made this using using the technique of double knitting. Something I can’t get my head around and amazes me! If you look closely, you will see that the last repeat has PacMan ghosties in it!

Raine and I sadly don’t live near each other, but I love doing crafty stuff with her when possible. She is super helpful and patient when I’m going “Raaaaiiiine, I’m stuuuuuuck!” Check out her Ravelry page and her blog!

Special mention to my friend Sophie who made this beast:

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

