Pattern Designing…

So, I think I’m going to try my hand at pattern designing! Nothing elaborate just yet, but I’ve been knitting these little octopus toys that I love,and I think they would be just as nice and a lot quicker to make if they were crocheted instead of knitted.

Aristotle The Octopus - Pink Edition

Aristotle The Octopus

 

I don’t think it will be too hard. The head/body would just be a fairly basic amigurumi sphere shape, and the legs will be similar to how they’re knitted. They are knitted by casting on 50 stitches, then an entire knitted row, then a row where you knit 30 out of the 50 stitches then knit 2 together for the rest of the row (this makes them curl a bit), then you cast off knitwise. So I’m thinking I’d just make a chain the length I want the legs, SC a full row, turn and SC most of the row then crochet 2 together for the rest of that row, and if that isn’t thick enough, add another SC row. I guess it will be a case of trial and error.

I am also going to try and design some little animal brooches, starting with a fox, an owl and a polar bear! I’ll be sure to blog about my progress.

If anyone has some good pattern designing tips, please share! x

One thought on “Pattern Designing…

Leave a Reply

