Jungle VIP

I’m going to be an Aunt in June – how exciting is that?! My Brother-In-Law and Sister-In-Law are expecting a little baby girl so, of course, I have to make her all of the things! As she will be a summer baby, booties, hats and cardigans are out and I think it’s pretty obvious by now that I love making little toys so that seemed like the obvious place to start.

MonkeyRaffe02These were actually separate patterns but my niece-to-be’s nursery has been kitted out with a jungle theme and features lots of monkeys and a giraffe or two, so I really wanted to make her a little set together. Luckily, the patterns yielded toys of a similar size; all I had to do to get them roughly the same size but with the giraffe a little taller is play around with crochet hook size – easy peasy!

MonkeyRaffe03I’m really pleased with how they came out and they were both really quick – a few hours each. I’m not a big fan at all of insisting little girls are dressed in pink and only pink but I had the perfect yarn in my stash for the giraffe so went with it. I thought the little monkey originally seemed like a little boy monkey but I wanted to add something to tie the two toys together visually, so added the little headband which I think is a cute addition and only took me a few minutes.

MonkeyRaffe04

For the flower, I headed to the trusty Attic 24 website and used her Teeny Tiny Flower pattern and it was the perfect size! Then I just crocheted a chain until it would fit on the head nicely.

MonkeyRaffe05

The only thing I would do differently would be use some polystyrene beads in the giraffes front legs and monkey’s bum to weigh them down a bit – they topple over quite easily, but I don’t think that really matters too much. I loved making these (and had great fun photographing them!) and would recommend the patterns if you want some cute little toys – great new born gifts!

The monkey pattern can be found here, by Pepika: Monkey Pattern
The giraffe pattern can be found here, yay Etsy: Giraffe Pattern

MonkeyRaffe01Up next, some little crocheted sandals like these – hurrah!

8 thoughts on “Jungle VIP

  1. What a cute set! I love making these little animals as you obviously do also 🙂 And those sandals are just too sweet.

  2. Pingback: Gimme Stitches | pixels and purls

  3. Pingback: 30 Day Knitting Challenge: Day 14 | pixels and purls

  4. Pingback: Crochet Baby Sandals - part 1 - Free Crochet Patterns

  5. Pingback: Crochet Baby Sandals - part 2

  6. Pingback: Crochet Baby Sandals - part 3 - Free Crochet Patterns

Leave a Reply

